top of page

Flashback Food Friday

When we travel to new and exciting places, we immerse ourselves into the local culture. This includes eating delicious, new, and even strange foods. So we wanted to share some of those unique cuisines we have had from around the world. On this week's Flashback Food Friday, we want to take you to Paris, France. One of the most delicious things we ate, in all of Europe, was Salmon pizza! When we first saw it on the menu, we looked at each other in disgust. However, Megan loves salmon, so we thought we would give it a try. We are glad we did!

So among sharing what food we have eaten, we will also show you guys how to make it from home! With this quick and easy recipe, you can be transported to the streets of Paris.

Salmon Pizza

Ingredients

Dough:

-Active Dry Yeast

-Water

-All Purpose Flour

Toppings:

-8 oz Salmon

-Vodka Sauce

-Mozzarella Cheese

Recipe

1. Making the dough

This recipe actually begins the night before. For the pizza dough to get enough rise, it will have to proof overnight, so it is important to start this recipe the night before you intend to enjoy it. If you are reading this and want to enjoy your salmon pizza tonight, many grocery stores sell raw pizza dough in the bakery section.

I followed this pizza dough recipe. I found the recipe easy to follow and was very impressed with the dough. The recipe should be enough for four 12" pizzas, but I cut the final dough into three portions to have a larger pie tonight and have two more potential pizzas waiting in the freezer for another night!

http://www.marthastewart.com/341925/pizza-dough

2. Bake the Salmon

The salmon will not have enough time to bake while on top of the pizza, so it is important to get your fish cooked ahead of time. I added a bit of lemon and salt to my salmon, covered it in tin foil, and baked for 20 minutes. At this stage, you do not want to over cook your salmon at this point because it will be doing another round in the oven. You are simply looking for the fish to begin to be flaky

3. Topping your Pizza

After shaping your dough into the perfect round shape, it is time to top your pie! For this recipe, I copied the original pizza we had in Paris and used a vodka cream sauce. I haven't quite mastered making pasta sauces as I have in making pizza dough, so I bought a traditional jarred vodka sauce to add to my pizza, and I have plenty of sauce left over for a penne alla vodka (one of my favorite dishes) later this week. On top of my vodka sauce, I added small bits of the cooked salmon, and finished off the pizza with some sliced mozzarella!

4. Bake your Pizza

At a 500°F oven, your pizza will cook pretty quickly. It is best to keep an eye on it and look for that perfect golden brown crust. My pizza took 10 minutes

5. Enjoy!

This pizza is perfect for a romantic backyard dinner in the summer. Add your favorite wine, and imagine you are dining in the cutest cafe in Paris!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page